Inspiration

I was extremely excited, and wowed, when I saw that Kunda, at http://kktrainingsystems.wordpress.com, nominated me for the Very Inspirational Blogger award!  I actually read his post a couple of times out of excitement!  Kunda is not only a fitness professional, but also a great writer.  I am always able to take away new ideas and information from his posts, and that is inspiring!

I started my blog as a personal workout journal.  I have always been active.  I swam competitively for years, played tennis from the age of 4 all throughout college, and I was in the fitness industry for about 8 years as a group fitness instructor, personal trainer, and gym manager.  The gym, and working out, has always been my security blanket, my “me” time, so when I found myself not being able to get to the gym with my long commute/work hours, my son’s schedule becoming busier and just life in general getting in the way of my normal lunch time workout I kind of panicked.  I started relying on my workout DVD’s in the mornings, or evenings, and eventually the gym membership became one of those expenses that wasn’t a necessity any more.  As the DVD’s became boring, I found myself creating my own workouts to provide a challenge / variety and videoing myself allowed me to see how hard I was pushing myself, where I could improve and more importantly keep an eye on my form.  I didn’t really think that anyone would really read my blog, let alone follow me or nominate me for a blogging award!  I’m just a single mom, and like most people I know, I am always looking for ways to save money.

The acceptance of the award come with some requirements:

  1. Display the award logo somewhere on the blog.
  2. Link back to the blog of the person who nominated you.
  3. State 7 things about yourself.
  4. Nominate other bloggers for the award and provide links to their blogs.
  5. Notify those bloggers that they have been nominated and of the award’s requirements.

I already shared a bit about myself up above, but here are 7 other “fun facts about Sarah”:

1.  I have an unhealthy obsession with spreadsheets and budgets, but I am an accountant so I guess that’s a good obsession to have in my profession!

2.  I learned how to snowboard two years ago and love it!  I figured since it’s going to be years before I leave Maryland to move back south where I LOVE the heat and lack of season changes, I might as well try to enjoy winter sports as much as possible.

3.  After sharing number 2 it’s going to sound weird to share this BUT I have never been a fan of cold weather.  I love the heat, the hotter the better, and would much rather be sweating and hot than be cold.

4.  I cannot stand to hear people whistle.  It’s such a horrible sound, like nails down a chalkboard to me.

5.  When I find something I like, I obsess over it.  I hear a song I like I play it over and over again.  I find a meal, recipe, food that I like I eat it until I grow tired of it.

6.  I would love to get back working in the fitness industry in some way.  I loved the interaction with my class members / clients and, even though it has been years since I last talked to them I still think about them and wonder how their journey is going.  I hope that once my son is older, he’s 7 ½ right now, and wants to spend more time with his friends than me, I will be able to work my way back.  In the mean time, I’m just going to savor the time I have left of him actually acknowledging my existence, and the fact that he wants to spend time with me, before that desire is gone for the teenage years!!

7.  I bought a  house this past December.  It’s an older house, that needs some work, not a lot but some areas more than others.  One of the areas that needs work is the kitchen.  My oven only broils and I have two working burners on the cook top.  Because of these limitations I am trying to learn how to cook / bake healthy recipes in different ways.  I recently found a way to bake bread in my crock pot that I will post soon!

My  nominees for Very Inspirational Blogger are:

Kunda at http://kktrainingsystems.wordpress.com.  Even though he nominated me, I have to nominate him as well.  His knowledge, writing skills and presentation are very informative and I always learn something from his blog.

Stephanie at http://modernchristianwoman.com/.  Her recipes, approach to life, and creativity keep me reading.  I love the fact that she keeps cost in mind and general pantry items with her recipes.

Danielle at http://shemakescents.com/.  Danielle’s site provides food for my inner finance / nerd side.  Fashion, finances, freebie & sale alerts…enough said!

Dr. Black and Dede Cummings at http://livingwithcrohnsandcolitisbook.wordpress.com/about/.  I was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis in 2002.  Their posts and knowledge about Crohns and Ulcerative Colitis have given me new ideas and thoughts on how to adjust my life style to make things a little easier.

John at http://fitfor365.wordpress.com/.  I love his workout spreadsheet, the honesty and the desire he has to make a change in his life.

I am inspired by a lot of people everyday, but those mentioned above are who are inspiring me lately in blog world!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inspiration

  1. I feel so honored. Thank you so much:)

  2. Pingback: {Love Is Free} Very Inspiring Blogger Award « she makes cents

  3. KK Training Systems says:

    Thank you for the kind words! I have been so impressed with your work ethic snd determination with your workouts! Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a comment